COUNCIL

(Remotely via Teams)

23 December 2020 **Members Present:**

The Mayor: **Councillor S.Jones**

Councillor J.Warman The Deputy Mayor:

Councillors: A.R.Aubrey, D.Cawsey, H.C.Clarke, C.Clement-

> Williams, M.Crowley, A.P.H.Davies, N.J.E.Davies, O.S.Davies, R.Davies, C.Edwards, S.E.Freeguard, W.F.Griffiths,

J.Hale, S.Harris, M.Harvey, S.K.Hunt, J.Hurley,

C.J.Jones, D.Jones, J.Jones, L.Jones,

R.G.Jones, D.Keogh, S.A.Knoyle, E.V.Latham, A.Llewelyn, A.R.Lockyer, A.McGrath, J.Miller, S.Miller, R.Mizen, J.D.Morgan, S.Paddison,

S.M.Penry, M.Protheroe, S.Pursey, S.Rahaman, P.A.Rees, S.Renkes,

S.H.Reynolds, P.D.Richards, D.Whitelock, C.Williams, A.Wingrave, R.W.Wood and

A.N.Woolcock

Officers in S.Curran, A.Evans, C.Furlow-Harris, C.Griffiths, Attendance:

A.Jarrett, H.Jenkins, K.Jones, N.Pearce and

M.Shaw

1. **Mayor's Announcements**

It was with great sadness that the Mayor announced that the father in law of Councillor Peter Richards had passed away. As a mark of respect Council held a minute's silence.

2. **Administration Issues for the Civic Year 2020-21**

Council considered the various administrative issues as set out in the circulated report.

RESOLVED:

- a) That Councillor Scott Jones be confirmed Mayor for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21 pursuant to Section 23(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 and Local Authorities (Coronavirus) (Meetings) (Wales) Regulations 2020.
- b) That Councillor John Warman be confirmed the Deputy Mayor for the remainder of the Civic Year 20/21 pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 and Local Authorities (Coronavirus) (Meetings) (Wales) Regulations 2020.
- c) That Councillor R.G Jones be elected Leader of the Council and Councillor E.V Latham be elected Deputy Leader of the Council for the remainder of the Civic year 2020/21 Pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the Constitution.
- d) That the Executive arrangements for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21 i.e. the period to the next Annual Meeting, in respect of the size of the Cabinet; the appointment of Members thereto; the appointment of the Cabinet Boards; and the allocation of the Cabinet Portfolios be approved as contained in **Annex A** to the circulated report;
- e) That the apportionment of seats amongst the constitution of Political Groups for the reminder of the Civic Year 2020/21 be confirmed as set out in **Annex B** to the circulated report (but it be unanimously RESOLVED that pursuant to Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the political balance requirements of Sections 15 and 16 should not apply to the Appeals Panel, Standards Committee and the Licensing and Gambling Acts Sub Committee);
- f) That the proposed structure of the five Scrutiny Committees and their functions and the apportionment of chairs of scrutiny committees amongst the constituted Political Groups and the member appointments to each Scrutiny Committee in accordance with the wishes of the political groups together with the re-appointment of the co-opted members to the Education Skills and Culture Scrutiny Committee as set out in **Annex C** be confirmed for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21

- g) That the proposals in respect of the other Committee arrangements for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21 be approved, together with the appointment of Members thereto, as set out in **Appendix D** to the circulated report. That the chair and vice chair of the Audit Committee be drawn from the opposition members of the committee and to be determined by the Audit Committee and that the Chair and Vice Chair of the Licensing Sub-Committee to be determined by the Sub Committee be approved.
- h) That the proposed appointment (once approved by Cabinet) of Member/Officer appointments to Joint Committees, Outside and Other Public Bodies for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21 set out in **Annex E** be noted, with Cllr A.Wingrave to replace Cllr C Clement Williams on the membership of 'Regeneration NPT.'
- That the Committee Cycle and Timetable for the remainder of the Civic Year 2020/21(including Member Seminars) set out at Annex F be approved.
- j) That the distribution of the available Senior Salaries as contained in **Annex G** be approved.
- k) That the terms of reference and membership of the Member Panel Coronavirus set out in **Annex H** be approved.
- That the structure for Democratic Services set out at Annex I be endorsed.

3. Designation of Head of Paid Service

RESOLVED:

- a) That from the 1st January 2021, Mrs Karen Jones be designated as Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council's Head of Paid Service in accordance with Section 4 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 be approved.
- b) That from the 1_{st} January 2021, Mrs Karen Jones be designated as Returning Officer of Neath Port Talbot County

- Borough Council pursuant to the Section 35 (1A) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 be approved.
- c) That from the 1st January 2021, Mrs Karen Jones be designated as Electoral Registration Officer of Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council pursuant to Section 8 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 be approved.

CHAIRPERSON